### **FULL COUNCIL**



You are requested to attend a meeting of the Full Council to be held in The John Meikle Room - The Deane House, Belvedere Road, Taunton on 20 March 2019 at 6.30 pm.

## **Agenda**

The meeting will be preceded by a Prayer to be offered by the Mayor's Chaplain.

- Minutes of the previous meeting of the Full Council held on (Pages 5 28) 11 December 2018 and the Special Full Council held on 22 January 2019 (attached).
- 2 To report any apologies for absence.
- 3 To receive any communications.
- 4 Declaration of Interests.

To receive and record any declarations of disclosable pecuniary interests or personal or prejudicial interests in respect of any matters included on the agenda for consideration at this meeting.

(The personal interests of Councillors and Clerks of Somerset County Council, Town or Parish Councils and other Local Authorities will automatically be recorded in the minutes.)

- To receive questions from Taunton Deane Electors under Standing Order 15,
- Receipt of any petitions or deputations under Standing Orders 16 and 17.
- 7 The Bishop Fox's Educational Foundation. A brief presentation by Councillor Stephen Martin-Scott relating to a local educational charity which could help fund local 11-24 year olds in activities that would help them reach their educational aspirations.
- 8 Part I To deal with written questions to the Executive.
- 9 Part II To receive reports from the following Members of the (Pages 29 70) Executive (attached).
  - (a) Councillor John Williams Leader of the Council;

- (b) Councillor Richard Parrish Planning Policy and Transport Strategy;
- (c) Councillor Vivienne Stock-Williams Sports, Parks and Leisure:
- (d) Councillor Andrew Sully Corporate Resources;
- (e) Councillor Jane Warmington Community Leadership;
- (f) Councillor Stephen Martin-Scott Housing Services:
- (g) Councillor Patrick Berry Environmental Services and Climate Change; and
- (h) Councillor Mark Edwards Economic Development, Asset Management, Arts and Culture, Tourism and Communications.

Following the discussion of the Executive Councillor reports, the Deputy Mayor will take the Chair for the following items.

# 10 Councillor Catherine Avril Herbert

Councillor Jane Warmington to propose and Councillor Terry Hall to second:-

"That the best thanks of the Council be accorded to Councillor Catherine Avril Herbert for the manner in which she has discharged the duties of the office of Mayor of the Borough during her term of office".

(Note: Councillor Mrs Herbert's term will formally end on 31 March 2019 as the new Somerset West and Taunton Council comes into operation on 1 April 2019. This meeting is therefore the last opportunity the Full Council of Taunton Deane Borough Council will have to offer its thanks to the Mayor. After 1 April, the Mayor will continue to honour invitations to events and engagements on an 'informal' basis up to and including 2 May 2019 when the Local Government Elections will be held.)

Councillor Mrs Herbert will reply.

11 The Deputy Mayor will present to Councillor Mrs Herbert her Past Mayor Badge.

Bruce Lang Assistant Chief Executive Members of the public are welcome to attend the meeting and listen to the discussions.

There is time set aside at the beginning of most meetings to allow the public to ask questions.

Speaking under "Public Question Time" is limited to 4 minutes per person in an overall period of 15 minutes. The Committee Administrator will keep a close watch on the time and the Chairman will be responsible for ensuring the time permitted does not overrun. The speaker will be allowed to address the Committee once only and will not be allowed to participate further in any debate.

Except at meetings of Full Council, where public participation will be restricted to Public Question Time only, if a member of the public wishes to address the Committee on any matter appearing on the agenda, the Chairman will normally permit this to occur when that item is reached and before the Councillors begin to debate the item.

This is more usual at meetings of the Council's Planning Committee and details of the "rules" which apply at these meetings can be found in the leaflet "Having Your Say on Planning Applications". A copy can be obtained free of charge from the Planning Reception Desk at The Deane House or by contacting the telephone number or e-mail address below.

If an item on the agenda is contentious, with a large number of people attending the meeting, a representative should be nominated to present the views of a group.

These arrangements do not apply to exempt (confidential) items on the agenda where any members of the press or public present will be asked to leave the Committee Room.

Full Council, Executive, Committees and Task and Finish Review agendas, reports and minutes are available on our website: <a href="www.tauntondeane.gov.uk">www.tauntondeane.gov.uk</a>

The meeting rooms at The Deane House are on the first floor and are fully accessible. Toilet facilities, with wheelchair access, are available.

Lift access to The John Meikle Room, is available from the main ground floor entrance. Toilet facilities, with wheelchair access, are available through the door to the right hand side of the dais.



An induction loop operates at The Deane House to enhance sound for anyone wearing a hearing aid or using a transmitter.

For further information about the meeting, please contact the Governance and Democracy Team on 01823 356356 or email democraticservices@tauntondeane.gov.uk

If you would like an agenda, a report or the minutes of a meeting translated into another language or into Braille, large print, audio tape or CD, please telephone us on 01823 356356 or email: enquiries@tauntondeane.gov.uk

#### **Full Council Members:**

## Councillor C Herbert (Chairman and Mayor of Taunton Deane)

Councillor F Smith Councillor M Hill Councillor J Adkins Councillor J Horsley Councillor M Adkins Councillor J Hunt Councillor G James Councillor T Aldridge Councillor T Beale Councillor R Lees Councillor P Berry Councillor S Lees Councillor J Blatchford Councillor L Lisgo Councillor C Booth Councillor D Mansell Councillor S Martin-Scott Councillor R Bowrah Councillor W Brown Councillor I Morrell Councillor N Cavill Councillor S Nicholls Councillor S Coles Councillor R Parrish

Councillor W Coombes Councillor H Prior-Sankey

Councillor D Cossev Councillor J Reed Councillor D Durdan Councillor R Ryan

Councillor K Durdan Councillor F Smith-Roberts Councillor V Stock-Williams Councillor M Edwards

Councillor H Farbahi Councillor P Stone Councillor A Sully Councillor M Floyd

Councillor J Gage Councillor N Townsend Councillor E Gaines Councillor C Tucker Councillor A Govier Councillor J Warmington Councillor P Watson Councillor A Gunner Councillor R Habgood Councillor D Webber Councillor D Wedderkopp Councillor T Hall Councillor R Henley Councillor J Williams

Councillor C Hill Councillor G Wren